Filling the Quiver

I have a long list of career paths that I considered going down starting with Fairy Princess and ending at… Heck, I still don’t know! Veterinarian. Pop star. Radiologist. Youth pastor. Nurse. Some were just a phase and some I may still pursue, but I’ve always felt that my deepest calling & purpose is to glorify God through my marriage & through motherhood.

C.S. Lewis Homemaker quote

I’ve only been a mom for 4 years now so don’t take me too seriously 😜, but in my experience so far, nothing else produces the simultaneous joy and frustration that motherhood allows. I couldn’t imagine going through my life without feeling that spectrum of emotion. There are many wonderful days where I feel my cup runneth over…. aaaaaand there are days where I hide in my closet with a bottle of wine and question every decision I’ve ever made.  So why is it, as I’m retelling the story of my 4 year old daughter losing control of her bladder on the McDonald’s PlayPlace slide and shutting the whole area down that I can turn to my husband and say “Let’s have another”?

For me. 

Motherhood has been one of the key means of experiencing sanctification in my life. Motherhood is knowing joy, even when experiencing the hardest trials you’ve ever faced. I have been pushed beyond my limit time and time again forcing me to rely on God for my strength, wisdom, and -let’s be honest- sanity.  I have learned that when I am weak, God is made strong in me. He is constantly lifting me to new heights while stretching me far beyond any limits I once put on myself.

James 1

For them and for Him.

Psalm 127

Psalm 127:4 inspires me to fill my quiver with arrows and spend my life forming them to be a deadly show of force & accuracy against the enemy. Straightening what’s crooked. Sanding the rough spots. Adjusting the feathers. Dedicating time to target practice. Making sure my little arrows understand their identity is in Christ and their purpose is to be trained, aimed, and released for God’s will and His glory. I want my marriage to be a reflection of the love between Christ & His bride all the while being sanctified through the service and selflessness that marriage requires.  And I want to be a mom (AKA warrior 😉) knowing that these arrows that I carve, shape, & balance are going to journey far beyond my reach.

2 thoughts on “Filling the Quiver

  1. Unless the Lord builds the house,
    the builders labor in vain.
    Unless the Lord watches over the city,
    the guards stand watch in vain.
    In vain you rise early
    and stay up late,
    toiling for food to eat—
    for he grants sleep to those he loves.
    Children are a heritage from the Lord,
    offspring a reward from him.
    Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
    are children born in one’s youth.
    Blessed is the man
    whose quiver is full of them.
    They will not be put to shame
    when they contend with their opponents in court.
    – Psalm 127

    As I understand this poetry, it’s not a prescription. “Be fruitful and multiply” was spoken when there were a total of a dozen people on the face of the entire planet. We have billions now. God’s not going to smite you for having four children instead of eight, two children instead of four, three children instead of six.

    I always like to ask: if children are arrows; are you ready to use them as weapons?

    Like

Leave a Reply

